Dublin's Four Courts by Night
The historic Four Courts is Ireland's main courts building, housing the
Supreme Court, the High Court and Dublin's Circuit Court. It was designed by Thomas Cooley, and upon his death in 1784, it fell to renowned architect James Gandon to complete, which he did in 1796.
In 1922, it was occupied by Irish rebel forces opposed to the Anglo-Irish Treaty. The new National Army bombarded the building to dislodge the rebels, destroying the historic building in the process. Almost 1000 years of national archives (the building also housed the Irish Public Records) were destroyed by the fires that raged.
The building was rebuilt and reopened in 1932.
It is an iconic building overlooking the River Liffey on Dublin's Inns Quay.
From Landscape Gallery & Store